Things I’ve Lost Recently

February 19, 2013

I’ve lost a few things over the last two or three weeks:

slingMy balance–– I fell pretty hard, and now my arm’s in a sling, nothing broken, but there’s a lot of pain. – I ask myself – how can I sue this in a short story?

My appetite––  Just don’t feel like cooking myself anything. Plus with the arm/sling thing – they kitchen’s a bit webbly-wobbly now. My stomach growled so loudly it scared the cat. That I can definitely use in a story.

My ideas–– for a new post for novices about writing –– That’s the one thing I hate losing the most. But the cupboard seems to be bare.

So I’m asking you all to post a comment about topics you’d like to to talk about – if it has to do with writing well, send on the ideas or questions. I’m fresh out.

One thing I do want to get across to novices is this: For me personally, the best stories I’ve read are the one that are told well. Not only imagined well in your own mind. But ones that can earn praise from readers for its story and for its storytelling.

Think about that. What are you doing to tell a better story? Would you like some posts about that?

Are you working on writing better descriptions? Are you working on ways to show emotion more realistically? Are you trying to get your prose to go from mundane to chilling or touching?

Let’s hear what you all have to say.

And while I’m here, thanks to these folks who’ve dropped by from these countries recently: Israel, Zambia, Estonia, Turkey, Greece, Mozambique, Ukraine, and Lebanon. Come back soon.

5 Responses to “Things I’ve Lost Recently”

  1. kyred Says:

    So sorry to hear about your loss of balance. Hope you are feeling better soon. I’m afraid that I haven’t any suggestions for topics just now, but if I do think of any, I’ll be back. 🙂

    • ejrunyon Says:

      I worked with someone this evening and I think I’ve got an idea – watch for tomorrow’s post!
      ej

      And the rest of you please ask away… the more the merrier.

  2. Karlie Says:

    I would like to hear more about writing in scene, and getting into character. Again, I hope you feel better soon!

  3. Laura Bruno Lilly Says:

    Your post inspired me, even without ‘how to’s’ or insights into certain topics on writing. I found myself drawn to the photo which elicited a spontaneous response within my own creative writing. Words such as ‘tenderness, vulnerable,delicate, hurt’ Phrases such as ‘having the grace to soldier-on while in the midst of loss’. And the application of your physical losses to seasons in our lives, creative and just life: Losing Balance (lack of clarity and direction) implies loss of appetite for life and ideas while Gaining Balance (clarity defined and a path laid out) implies gaining an appetite, zest for life and regeneration of ideas. Take care, dear one.
    peace
    LAURA

    • ejrunyon Says:

      Thanks for the comment Laura,

      And please do use those ideas in your current writing. This is something I talk about in my upcoming book – let all creative prompts become actual material for your current work. Funnel it somehow into your novel.
      ej

Leave a Reply

