Friends in Far Flung Places

July 17, 2012

Since Feb 2012, on this Author’s blog I’ve gotten visitors from 26 countries around the globe, totaling nearly 1,000 visits. Of these, there are the single stop visitors:  Finland, Thailand, Saudi Arabia,  Indonesia, Turkey, Austria, Ireland & Republic of Korea.

The other 18 countries are multiple-visits. I’m not sure if it’s the same visitors coming back again and again, or a mix of new folks and returnees. If they are here because they like my short story collection, or just fell across me in their meandering through WordPress. But either way, I’m grateful.

My publisher, Inspired Quill, and I are working on book two this summer. A How-to book for novices eager to write fiction or memoir.

I thought to myself:

Maybe I’ll turn the blog into a mini-writer’s conference for the rest of the summer. Have the posts open to Q & A’s about the how to’s and the why’s of beginner writers. Hummm…

So I’m asking any visitors for Blog topic suggestions. From for now till Tell Me (How to Write) a Story  is released— What do you want to ask about how to write fiction and memoir?

See some of the other posts here about what I write about writing.

If you know other novices send them this post. Ask them to comment and ask questions of their own. I’m open to any type of query, if it has to do with writing well, ask away.

(Start any comment with what type of genre you’re writing in)

In other news:

There’s a new book trailer out on Youtube for Claiming One. Take a look.

And for all my international visitors. Claiming One on Amazon, in a few places:

US

UK

CA

FR

IT

6 Responses to “Friends in Far Flung Places”

  1. Anna Says:

    How do you know when you’re using too much description? Is it like how you’re supposed to take off an accessory before you head out the door? I’m afraid I’m getting too descriptor-happy and I can’t seem to stop. :-/

    • ejrunyon Says:

      Great Question, Anna.
      Here’s some words to remember once you’re ready to weed though your abundance of description.
      Detail
      Movement
      Reveal
      Action

      I’ll be writing up a full blog post on your question in a day or two,
      but for now – ask yourself if you are writing all that description in order to to tell your readers details about the things in your story?
      (Description can be a sneaky way of trying to get info to the reader)

      Are you giving descriptions of detailed movements to tell the reader why or how someone is doing what they are doing?
      (Is a raised eyebrow taking the place of showing disbelief?)

      Are you using any of that detail to reveal things about your characters?
      Are your descriptions about your character’s movements or their actions?
      (There is a difference between the two)

      Watch for my full post reply by tomorrow or the day after.

      ej

      • Anna Says:

        Hmm. I’m looking forward to your post on this topic. I’ll save my thoughts until then, I think, save to say my answers are Yes, Yes, and Yes, and probably Both. I’m curious as to your thoughts.

      • ejrunyon Says:

        I’m working on it as we speak. My goal is an example for you to make the concept I discuss concrete.
        Wacth for it.
        ej


  2. Aren’t we all novices, each day we wake up and sit down again to write? 🙂

    So, here’s a fiction question I always wrestle with — sometimes the answer is easy; other times, like now, not so much:

    How do you, personally, go about deciding in what order to arrange a story collection or chapbook?

    • ejrunyon Says:

      Hi Samuel,
      Humm. Good question.

      For Claiming One, my recent collection of 17 stories from Inspired Quill, I knew what my pieces were ‘about’, in an underlying way. The themes that were running through each echoes or that furthered a concept from one story to another.

      So for me it was looking at the pieces as an entire whole and seeing what item led to the next.
      Serendipy-wise, looking at my own work as a ‘stranger’ to it, I found that in the act of deconstructing it- I discovered even deeper connections between the stories than I even intended them to have.

      Thanks for the question – Hope it applies to what you had in mind.

Leave a Reply

